things to do

Exploring the farm, its woods, ponds and cows before relaxing on your patio or in front of a roaring fire may be enough exertion, however, there are other activities and places of interest in abundance. As well as discovering nearby historic Hertford with its castle and taking a riverside walk in Ware, here are some suggestions. 

 

History and culture

Audley End House and Gardens www.english-heritage.org.uk
Off London Road, Saffron Walden, CB11 4JF, 01799 522842

A beautiful stately home with formal Victorian gardens. There are two cafes and a children’s play area.

Benington Lordship Gardens www.beningtonlordship.co.uk
Stevenage, SG2 7BS, 08701 261709

The gardens are spread over seven acres surrounding a Georgian manor house with remains of a Norman castle and moat.  

Cambridge

A historic university city with beautiful architecture, colleges and chapels.  It also boasts a number of museums and galleries; favourites of ours are the Fitzwilliam and Kettle’s Yard.  There are also plenty of excellent cafes and restaurants, including: 
Fitzbillies www.fitzbillies.com
Midsummer House (2 Michelin stars) www.midsummerhouse.co.uk
Alimentum (1 Michelin star) www.restaurantalimentum.co.uk

Capel Manor Gardens www.capelmanorgardens.co.uk
Bullsmoor Lane, Enfield, EN1 4RQ, 08456 122 122 ext 1200

Beautiful gardens set in a 30 acre estate, first established in the late 13th century, providing a colourful and scented oasis surrounding a Georgian manor house and Victorian stables.

Duxford Airforce Museum www.iwm.org.uk/visits/iwm-duxford
Just off junction 10 of the M11, the postcode is CB22 4QR.  01223 835000

Britain’s best-preserved Second World War airfield.  Historic buildings sit alongside  striking contemporary exhibition halls;  AirSpace and the American Air Museum. You can see many iconic aircraft as well as tanks, military vehicles and artillery.  

Hatfield House www.hatfield-house.co.uk
Hatfield, AL9 5NQ, 01707 287010

A stunning Jacobean house set in parkland; this is where the future Elizabeth I spent her childhood.  As well as its great history it has a children’s play area and farm.

Henry Moore Foundation www.henry-moore.org/pg
Perry Green, Much Hadham, SG10 6EE, 01279 844104

From May until October you can visit the wonderful sculpture gardens, Henry Moore's former home and studios. 

Knebworth House www.knebworthhouse.com
Knebworth, SG1 2AX, 01438 812661

A gothic mansion with plenty to do including an adventure playground, dinosaur trail, a walk through history in the stately home and gardens and special events throughout the summer.  

Wimpole Hall and Home Farm www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wimpole-estate/
Arrington, Royston, SG8 0BW, 01223 206000

A magnificent country house, which is part of the grandest working estate in Cambridgeshire. Set in fine landscaped parkland with a variety of walks through the Repton and 'Capability' Brown landscape.  There is also Home Farm, a working farm which also has a number of rare breed animals.  

 

Activities

Bike hire
Highway Cycles www.highwaycycles.co.uk
9b Great Northern Works, Hartham Lane, Hertford, SG14 1QW, 01992 536007

Fishing
Rib Valley Fishing Lakes www.ribvalleyfishinglakes.co.uk
Westmill Farm, Ware, SG12 0ES, 01920 462200

Golf
East Herts Golf Club www.easthertsgolfclub.co.uk
Hamels Park, Buntingford, SG9 9NA, 01920 821978

Whitehill Golf www.whitehillgolf.co.uk
Whitehill, Dane End, SG12 0JS, 01920 438495 

Horse riding
Contessa Riding Centre www.contessa-riding.co.uk
Willow Tree Farm, Ware, SG11 1EN, 01920 821792

Water sports
Lee Valley White Water Centre www.visitleevalley.org.uk/go/whitewater/
Station Road, Waltham Cross, EN9 1AB, 0845 6770600

 

Especially for Children

Bowling
Hollywood Bowl www.hollywoodbowl.co.uk
Stevenage Leisure Park, Kings Way, Six Hills Way, Stevenage, SG1 2UA, 0844 826 1468

Cinema
Cineworld www.cineworld.co.uk
Stevenage Leisure Park, Kings Way, Six Hills Way, Stevenage, SG1 2UA, 0871 200 2000

Miniature railway
Audley End Miniature Railway and Family Adventure www.audley-end-railway.co.uk
Audley End Road, Saffron Walden, CB11 4JB, 01799 542134

Playground
There is a small playground in the village.  We also have a climbing frame near the barns and an adventure playground hidden in the woods.

Soft Play
Woody’s Play Barn www.woodysplaybarn.co.uk
Westmill Farm, Ware, SG12 0ES, 01920 462259

Swimming
Hartham Leisure Centre www.everyoneactive.com
Hartham Lane, Hertford, SG14 1QR, 01992 584000

Zoo
Paradise Wildlife Park www.pwpark.com
White Stubbs Lane, Broxbourne, EN10 7QA, 01922 470490